Why Women Love Pandora Charms…

Jewels-silver-plated-bracelet-2-imgWHY DO WOMEN love those things so much? You’d think they’re made of gold…oh, right.

PANDORA started in 1982 as a jewelry shop in Copenhagen, Denmark, by goldsmith Per Enevoldsen and his wife, Winnie. In the following years they focused more on wholesale, and in 1987 they closed their retail doors and opted for a larger wholesale place. With wholesale their only focus, they took on an in-house jeweler and worked on creating their own unique jewelry pieces.

In 2000, the PANDORA CHARM BRACELET was launched in the Danish market with the United States following in 2003, Germany and Australia in 2004. Today, PANDORA can be found in more than 70 countries on 6 continents.

But that still doesn’t explain why women love them so much…

Depending on whom you ask, the bracelets are either adorably beautiful or fugly. The latter  certainly hasn’t affected sales. If you ask me, I think they’re adorable since you can customize them any way you want, but they are a little old-ladyish. But what do I know about fashion jewelry?

Nada.

But I do know a thing or two about people.

I had an epiphany the other day while watching a PANDORA commercial. This happens to me often–what? No! Watching women’s commercials doesn’t spur epiphanies in me like a creeper. Maybe sometimes, but not all the time, and NO, not because I’m a creeper! Wait – I’m not a creeper. Those charges were cleared! I just meant that ideas pop-up from the craziest…oh, never mind. I’ve fallen too far down the rabbit-hole. Let’s just say inspiration springs from many a source. There, that sounds better. And forget about those charges, I was only–ah, kidding, right, just kidding.

As I was watching the uh – inspirational PANDORA commercial…I saw how many different options for charms that were available. The possibilities are endless:

Are you a nurse? Into football? In love? Then I saw the cat…

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 1.14.57 PM       Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 1.16.54 PM   Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 1.15.47 PM      Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 1.18.33 PM

He was adorable! Like a little action figure…and that’s when I realized it. PANDORA charms are more than just little bobbles of gaudy self expression.

They’re toys!

And where do we find toys? No, not in our toy boxes, silly…HEY, WAIT A MINUTE! Get your mind outta the gutter! We’re not talking about those kind of toys! I’m talking about our childhoods – that’s where we find toys…

When we were children, most of us (hopefully all) spent our wee-days playing. If you were lucky like me, you had a playroom. OH GEEZ! Get it outta the gutter! You really have to stop peeking in my windows! But seriously…our lives were filled with nothing but fun and innocence. <–DING DING DING DING

So, why do all those women love PANDORA bracelets? They love them because they bring them back to a time of their innocence. When all their cares and worries of the world all boiled down to which toy to choose. Women clamber over each other when the newest charms are rolled out for purchase. They browse through multitudes of themes, textures and stones, matching them together like clothes in a wardrobe. Personalizing those things into individual fashion statements with statements!

BRRRRRINGGG…BRRRRRINGGGG

“Hello, Diane?” …. “Did you hear about the PANDORA sale?” …. “Grrrrlllll, I’ll pick you up!”

Sure, there are tons of personal jewelry accessories, but none as personal or interchangeable as these bracelets. They bring women back to a day when they didn’t have to worry about being late because they didn’t have children at soccer games, husbands expecting gourmet dinners or bosses demanding overtime.

Those bracelets, those extravagant little self-indulging trinkets allow those women to feel young, free and untethered. Even if it’s just for a moment, they refill their hearts with the innocence the human condition has long since stripped from them.

The innocence in all of us is still there. It may feel as if life has taken it away, but it hasn’t. It’s there, down deep in our hearts.

Why is this innocence so important?

It’s important for our happiness. I know that it doesn’t sound as if that is relatable, but it is. Remember the last time you were playing with your dollies? Or Rockem-Sockem Robots? How did you feel playing with your favorite toys?

Happy.

You were a happy little boy or girl, playing with your toys and it had nothing to do with being shallow or materialistic. Yes, you had “things” and they made you happy. But would you be that same kind of “happy” now, playing with those same toys? The kind of happiness that comes with contentment? No, I imagine you would not. Not even if you were playing with your grownup toys. It isn’t the same kind of happiness, is it?

So, how did innocence make us happy when we were little kids? Now, that I’ve targeted the what, you want me to tell you the why, too? Okay, okay… It’s not as lame as you think. Innocence is tied in with our sense of awe and wonder.

Absolutely… How can it not be?

The very definition of innocence, and I quote definition #4 directly from Dictionary.com: Innocence: #4 lack of knowledge or understanding. When we don’t understand something or are clueless, we are in awe and wonderment. That’s the second time I’ve used the word wonderment this week, hmmm. I digress. Those two words (awe & wonderment) are really just the same thing. And when we’re in awe or wonderment of something, we’re at a disadvantage and we tend to keep our minds open, receptive for the answer.

As a tainted adult, this open-mindedness translates as a tool. A tool that for the moment makes us become humbled. We put on a smile and happy attitude (albeit fake) until we unravel the mystery that placed us in wonderment (<–3rd time) is uncovered, then it’s back to our guarded nature. Through the course of our lives, as the world is chipping away at our “innocence,” this propensity becomes a learned act that has replaced the very definition of innocence and causes us to become that tainted adult.

When we’re children, those hairy years of life’s oppression haven’t had a chance to rip into us and it’s really all about attitude and perception, but we’ll discuss that in another post. So, for the children we once were, that innocence wasn’t a tool, it was our way of life. The very thing that drives us to explore and through that exploration, we find happiness. I know I’m always excitedly happy when I’m learning something new.

Yes, yes, my haters! I know you saw all those Facebook posts of my blog-learning-frustration. Frustration is the key part of learning something new. It’s the measure that tells us we’re literally learning. It’s actually a proven scientific fact that people who continually challenge themselves with learning new tasks–the more difficult the better–significantly improve memory and ward off dementia. Think of it as muscle burn. Frustration to the brain, is what weight-lifting is to muscles. It helps strengthen the connections of entire networks in the brain.

So, my beautiful haters… While I may have been frustrated learning the mechanics of blogging, I not only gave my brain a work out, I’ve really & truly enjoyed it! It’s been a lot of fun setting up the blog, regardless of the frustration. I was happy – I’ll give you I’m not the norm, but why do you think it made me happy?

Someone once said to me, “I love how you’re so filled with awe and wonder.” That comment  really stuck with me. And all this time, it’s been in my head flitting back & forth below my consciousness, tearing into my subconscious like a bat, looking for a way out of a cave. I guess it needed some time to marinate. But it was like EYES WIDE OPEN for me when the comment was made. I could see how I approached everything with a childlike sense of…innocence.

Have you ever met a person and thought to yourself, geez, they’re always so happy and jolly? Next time if you can, try and observe how they approach new problems or tasks. See if they have a childlike sense of awe and wonder as they go about it. I’ll bet they do.

Okay, let me climb my way back up the rabbit hole. I know my statement, “innocence is related to happiness” is out there. Far-fetched like my roaming brain, but it’s just part of my process. The strangest things will peck at my subconscious. Most times I’m even unaware it’s happening. But eventually like a computer running in the background, my brain postulates and theorizes about things that trouble it right before it’s compelled to solve it out and finally springing it to the forefront of my thoughts. Sometimes, these things…strange as they may be, I’m compelled to share them. If I can help one person, then it was worth the two-days I spent trying to craft the oddity from my head.

But let me explain it…

When we haven’t let the world flatten our tires and strip us of all our innocence, we retain that positive outlook on life we had in youth. Challenges become fun, not deadline related or imperative tasks to overcome. Those moments of frustration are internalized (just like when we were kids) and not given any credence. Just little crinkles on our foreheads – hardly even  noticed.

It’s when that innocence begins to fade like the ending of an old movie, we lose a small, vital piece of happiness in our lives. Lee Ann Womack said it best:

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,
May you never take one single breath for granted,
GOD forbid love ever leave you empty handed,
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

Consequently…she’s talking about children, but more importantly, spending 48 weeks on Billboard’s charts,  I Hope You Dance was her biggest hit–> to date.

Coincidence? Maybe, but I don’t think so.

Lee Ann’s song evokes the same kind of feeling as those little bobbles, but in a different way. Instead of feeling the emotion in the moment, the lyrics engage our minds into thinking about that feeling and what it means to us.

How Stella Got Her Innocence aka Happiness Back…

That’s the tricky part! Easy to do – nearly impossible to accomplish – but I’ll give you a good starting point. Here goes: Put on your Psychedelic-Wurvy-Swervy-Hat and climb aboard. I promise, no harm will come of this, only good…

Open your eyes to the world around you. Start by consciously looking for the beauty and/or good in EVERYTHING… Don’t push it aside and think, that’s ridiculous, there isn’t beauty or good in everything. Because there is, I promise.

Imagine if your mind was almost a blank slate. It only contained the basics, speech, movement, common sense etc., except there are no prejudices. No happy, sad, romantic, angry or otherwise any other influences. You’re experiencing & seeing the world for the first time. You’d have no basis upon which to judge anything, like when you were little and wanted a baby bulldog and your mother told you they were ugly. Ever since becoming an adult, you’ve looked at that innocent little dog and thought, how ugly.

Now, go back and use that nonjudgmental filter/focus to review that little dog. Would he still be ugly if someone hadn’t told you he was? How would you determine that for yourself with no prior basis? You wouldn’t see it as beautiful or ugly or good nor bad. You’d just use that childlike innocence to explore the possibilities. Then you’ll begin to start seeing things with an unfettered disposition. That little bulldog is so ugly it’s cute!

I know it’s true, that some things are pre-programmed or wired directly into our DNA for self-preservation. But hate (ugliness) is not one of them. Hate is learned, as in my example of the baby bulldog.

Happiness, on the other hand, is embedded into our DNA. No? You don’t believe me? Have you ever smiled at a baby and gotten a smile back? Or tickled its feet and received a roar of laughter? I thought so. No one taught that little person how to do those things. They were built in and I’m sure it has something to do with that self-preservation. What I really want to know is why we find it so funny when someone farts?

Practicing sight through your rose-colored glasses is one thing you can do to help bring happiness & innocence back into your life, another is smiling (sort of works the same way.) By now, I’m sure you’ve heard that if you practice smiling throughout the day regardless of your mood, eventually it will sink into your skin like a tattoo and you will be happier. Charles Darwin thought so…it’s a proven fact. Give it a try. The worst that’ll happen is you’ll have perma-smile.

Another great way to improve the happiness in your life would be practicing good karma. And I don’t mean in the religious sense. My definition of karma is to unconditionally be good to others and animals by performing acts of kindness for the sheer reasoning that it is the right thing to do. And as an added bonus, it will reflect back upon you. I’ve lived this and I’ve seen it. Turn your world around in the right direction and things will be better – I promise.

Lastly…

Try and quell that inner voice that constantly runs in the background of your mind. The ever-present voice that spews judgmental thoughts on what it sees. This voice can be helpful for deduction of a pertinent situation, but it needs a heavy filter. It doesn’t know what is helpful and what isn’t, like when you see something that doesn’t exactly conform to societal views. Like an extremely obese woman walking down the street, wearing a tube-top and mini-skirt. It’s nearly impossible to tell that ever-present, judgmental voice in our head not to find humor in this. But if you look back at the beginning of this paragraph I did say try. On this post I’ll talk about meditation and using it to curb that inner-narrator. So, don’t miss it!

So, the next time you see a woman admiring a PANDORA charm or bracelet, remember our little talk, watch and see if you can spot that innocent child step forward while they’re taking a  gander at those little toys.

8 comments

  1. Ozzy Motley · · Reply

    Love this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you.. 😀

      Like

  2. So beautiful again. I’m enjoying these blogs so much. Thanks Dean. I feel like I’ve been a little cranky today and you reminded me to dance. Love ya.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad to hear, Jodie. 😀 It’s spring.. Plenty of things to dance about.

      Like

  3. Jennie Huynh · · Reply

    What else can I expect from an AbFab…Absolutely Nothing!!! Love it!!! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not a big fan of those Pandora charms (mostly because they’re too damn expensive) but I do understand what you’re saying. I collect these little glass animals that I keep on my window sill in my kitchen. They fill me with that sense of childhood innocence that you’re referring to here…a time when I had nothing to worry about. One time Matt and I were driving during a storm and I was so scared because we could barely see the road. I looked in the back of the mini van and all three of my kids were laughing and joking around. It reminded me of when I was a kid and I had complete trust that my mom was going to keep us safe no matter what. It was a beautiful thing and sometimes I wish I was a kid again, to go back those times when I didn’t worry so much. Now when I look at those little glass animals I feel in touch with my inner child and it makes me happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your story.. ☺️

      Like

  5. I am not a Pandora fan, but have my toys! I choose to remain childlike & find awe in most everything I see! I love this story and hope that it will inspire others, because too many folks take life too seriously and life is too short! Keep up the great work! Loving your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

