What is Love?

What is LoveLove is holding hands and walking on the beach as the sun is setting… Love is the warm embrace of your husband, wife or partner… Love is a gentle caress on a baby’s cheek…

Love is many things to many people when asked the simple question, but the quote from the same-titled movie, “Love is a Many–Splendored Thing,” says it best.

But is that really the truth? Can love be more than one thing? I don’t think so.

People often equate love with sex and they could not  be further from the truth. Love – has absolutely nothing to do with sex. Okay, granted…Love, plus sex, is a wonderful thing, but I stand firm on my beliefs that it has actually nothing to do with love. And I strongly disagree with #7 on Dictionary.com’s list: sexual intercourse; copulation.

Sex is physical…

Sex is about primal urges, passion and procreation. The latter being key in our survival which is why we have an overpopulation problem. But sex does not require love and let me tell you…some of the best sex looks like Mortal Combat. Whaaaa? Don’t judge! Everyone has their preferences. The juxtaposition of character and sexual tastes often clash. It’s part of what makes us unique, not to mention how it reveals a peek into our underlying psychological profile.

But that’s too big for this little blogger’s post!

Let me stick with love. Love is not of the physical nature. Love goes much deeper and I have to clarify that the definition does not singularly encompass husband & wife or husband & husband or wife & wife or any other combination. Love does not judge.

I also need to clarify that love isn’t only relegated to “at first sight”. Which isn’t to say that I don’t believe in it. On the contrary, I knew from the minute I laid eyes on Paul, my partner of 14 years, that he would be the man in which I spent the rest of my days. Love can be found “at first sight” or it can be “grown”, very much like a tree that branches out, who’s roots grow deep from tender nourishment. It isn’t the vehicle that brings you to love that’s important, only that you’ve found it.

So, I’ve bounced around love’s characteristics, saving the best for last: What is Love?

Love is the undeniable passion within us that causes us to value something greater over our own needs & existence.

Cupid Cat

Sounds pretty cold & industrial despite my usage of the word passion, doesn’t it? That’s because it is… People have always equated love with cupid & hearts and this is where the many a splendor thing comes into play. It’s the reason that it can be so many things to so many people. But the core remains the same. True love boils down to putting something ahead of the ultimate: our own lives.

I wouldn’t think twice about pushing Paul out of the path of a train even if it meant my own life, just like a mother wouldn’t blink before pushing that carriage out of harms way.

Love can be enlightening and charming…all the things you’ve ever wanted it to be. Just make sure that you have your definition in check and that you aren’t fooling yourself or someone else. That, my friends…would not be love.

7 comments

  1. Yvonne Parizo · · Reply

    Good one! I wish people would realize that sex isn’t the only thing. I know too many people who put sex at the top of their relationships and nothing at all about communication, respect, or companionship. Thanks for the great viewpoint!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ozzy Motley ;) · · Reply

    Well written and you’re spot on about the sex part. It is not love. And I agree with the “at first sight” part. When my late husband and I met, I felt as if I had come home…. And it was the same for him too… We just knew that we were meant to be together, forever. Keep the awesome blogs coming!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you.. 😀

      Like

  3. I love this. Love is so much more than sex. I joke sometimes about how I love Jason so much it hurts… Him… Honestly I love him so much that it hurts me if I hurt him. I never feel worse as I do when I hurt him in some way. He is the most beautiful thing in the world to me and he is mine and I will take care to keep it that way always.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mickie Lear · · Reply

    You’re so right!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You nailed it! Great job! I’ve witnessed people who have an awesome sexual experience & think it’s love, only to find out later that it was just great sex! I believe in love at first sight, but it must be nurtured to remain.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

