DREAMS… Are They Real?

DreamsDreams… Are they real? Let me start with the definition. As a writer, I think I often do this because I’m always examining the meanings of words. Which one perfectly suits the message I’m trying to get across or which one flows better within the arrangement. There are a multitude of techniques a writer employs when using words and I’ve discovered that a lot of us have been using certain ones in the wrong contexts.

And I’m not just talking about the favorites that Grammar Nazi’s just love to pounce on us innocent scribes for misusing, such as therethey’re & their. I’m talking about words like accept vs except or effect vs affect. Or how about the word irregardless?<–––It’s not a word & it doesn’t even make sense…please, peeps! Stop using it! And I find Merriam-Webster’s method of determining new words for the dictionary a little remiss. I don’t care how many people mistakenly use the word irregardless…that doesn’t qualify it as a real word. But it is now in the dictionary!

There are many other, much more difficult misused words that are reluctant to come to mind right now. And my examples may seem like simple ones, but you try writing a novel of 115,000+ words & see how many you screw up. Writing a novel is an arduous journey.

So…back to the definition. For reference’s sake, I always use dictionary.com and in this instance I’ll just use the noun derivative:

Dream: noun

  1. a succession of images, thoughts, or emotions passing through the mind during sleep.
  2. the sleeping state in which this occurs.
  3. an object seen in a dream.
  4. an involuntary vision occurring to a person when awake.
  5. a vision voluntarily indulged in while awake; daydream; reverie.
  6. an aspiration; goal; aim: A trip to Europe is his dream.
  7. a wild or vain fancy.

No. 6 is where I’m focusing: an aspiration; goal; aim. Bravo, dictionary.com…for trivializing what I think is probably one of the most important words in the entire English language.

How can a dream, something we all aspire to make a reality, be summed up into 4 little words?

I’ll tell you why… It’s because there aren’t enough trees on this green earth to write out Unknown-13the definition of the word dream. Dreams are individual, unique… They mean something different to all of us. Some of us, the lucky ones as I say, already know from the moment of birth what their dreams are. I say lucky, because they have all that time in which to cultivate those dreams, to build them & make them a reality. Others, such as myself, need time to ripen and cultivate who they are before they can even fathom the reality of what their dreams are.

It’s very much like writing, in a sense. If you were to exam authors, you’d find I’m guessing, two types. One type, like Stephen King, who’s been penning tales from within the womb. For whatever cosmic reasons his dreams were embedded into his DNA and from his success we see the  reasoning.

Then there is the other type, that seems to travel a path of discovery. The roads aren’t as clear for them (like me) as they were for Mr. King. But even though those roads are not the correct paths, they seem to be related in some way. As a young kid, my first dream was to become an archaeologist. I would dig underneath the porch and unearth all kinds of arrowheads and trilobite fossils, etc. Uncovering the mysteries down deep in the earth titillated my senses like nothing else. Then came along Scooby-Doo and I wanted to be a detective. Then, when I was a little older and starting to read Mr. King, I wanted to be a horror writer. And that is where it ended for me. Notice a common theme among my choices? Isn’t writing a fiction novel like uncovering a mystery? Digging up clues? For me it is…I’m never happier then when I’m sitting on the patio under the umbrella or down by the pool, fleshing out my latest story or researching the Kongo; what I’m currently doing & extremely fascinating.

I’m never one to cry over spilled milk, but I wish that I’d taken the writer path sooner than later because the struggle would be less, but as I said, not everyone is ready to accept their dreams. For some, they must be cultivated. And I always, always say, “Nothing worth a damn in life is ever easy.” And that’s some hard-truth folks. Stop putting a negative spin on everything. Struggle sounds like it isn’t a lot of fun, and it really isn’t, but how proud of your accomplishments would you be if they were as easy as pie? You can’t enjoy the good if you’ve never experienced the bad, unfortunately, so embrace it, I say!

And before I fall too far from the writerly path, the comparison I’m making about two types of writers is this: You will see young writers, such as Dorothy Straight (age 4)<–––yes, she wrote her first book at age 4 and it was published by the time she was at the ripe old age of 6. And on the other end of the spectrum we have Bertha Wood, from the UK. She had her first book published at the age of––wait for it––>100! Just think of all the experiences she’s had since turning the big one-double-O… All that life struggle…just thinking about it makes me want to start reading her novel today.

It’s never too late or too early to start your dreams.

Unknown-14

If you haven’t realized your dream yet, never think that you can’t start now. You just may be one of those who need cultivating. If Dorothy Straight could live her dream at the age of 100, so can you. So, stop whining. Dreams don’t just happen on their own. Oh? What about the lottery, you say? Well, winning the lottery would certainly fulfill most dreams, but not all. Money does talk in most situations, but not every one. Regardless (<––notice I used the correct word) of how much money I have, I cannot buy or force Pearson, the worlds largest book publisher at the time of this writing, to publish my book. Sure, with lottery winnings I could buy a building, hire a qualified staff and setup up a publishing house & then make them publish my book. But then would I have realized my dream? Would the struggle of writing that check from my lottery winnings suffice the realized-dream inside my heart? All the Smart Alecks reading this are shaking their heads yes, but the heart inside me is clearly saying no & we are talking about my dream. And those lottery winnings? They also didn’t happen on their own. Ever heard “a dollar & a dream” or “you gotta be in-it to win-it?”

If you’re thinking to yourself I’ve never really had any dreams. That just may be so…or it’s more likely you need your aspirations checked out. Bringing a child into this world & raising them to be a good, productive person in society is a dream, just as much as it is as becoming a popular author. Dreams come in all forms…remember, not enough paper in the world?

But…the pursuit of a dream is never easy, as it shouldn’t be. We already talked about that. But if you don’t do something to make that dream a reality, you run the risk of living the gift of life that you’ve been given––all for naught. I don’t know about you, but the thought of that frightens me. A lot.

The average life span of a human, as of 2011, is 78.7 years old. That may only be a blip in regards to the universe, but to us bi-peds it’s quite a long time. Do you really want to spend all that time just meandering around this rock until you die? For all we know with 100% certainty is that that average of 78.7 years may just be the only 78.7 years we get! I know that I, for one, won’t stand by for another minute without using every millisecond of that time to make my dreams a reality.

I woke up in 2012 one day and said to myself: no more.

I chose my accounting controller path, early in life (high school) because of the lack of training, interest & focus of the guidance counselors of the school. Yes, I am going to do something I never do: place blame on others for my actions. While no one forced me at gunpoint to choose that career, I will remind you I was only an unexperienced teen of 15 years, listening to my elders as I was taught. I blame the guidance counselors then, for that decision, but only then. There comes a point (2012) when a person must take responsibility for their own actions, regardless (there’s that word again) of any prior circumstances.

Those counselors, I assume, were people that never realized or took a chance on their dreams. They became the 9-5 slaves that I’d become because no one taught them that realizing your dreams as your career would be paramount to not only their own lives, but to the lives of the people they affect. You don’t think there are people out there that have the dream of becoming a guidance counselor? You’re wrong. It’s just like being a social worker, only for teens in high school. Had I been lucky to get a guidance counselor within the dream of their lives, they just might have helped me to flourish into my dream-career.

Dreams come in all shapes & sizes. Yours is not greater or lesser than mine because it is the individuality inside all of us that counts as the only judge that matters.

Again, I’m crying over spilled milk & I apologize. We talked about cultivation and even though I’ve got a bug up my arse about my high school guidance counselor (watch for that post one day), I wasn’t ripe enough to pursue my dream of becoming a successful author. So in the end, things for me worked out as they should have. Before I leave you with my closing paragraph, I’d like to point you to a wonder person, article & blog, which happens to be called Wonderlass and that she is!! CLICK HERE: Wonderlass.

But I implore you, my dear friends… Realize your dreams. Work towards attaining them. Google the high-heavens out of the hows, whens & whys. Do what ever it takes. Ask me for help on how, in the comments below, & I’ll do whatever I can to help. Don’t let your life pass by without expressing what’s most deeply rooted within your being. You’ll be selling yourself short on the most important thing you’ve got: your life! Once you let go and do WHATEVER IT TAKES to make it happen…You’ll see the world in a whole new light. I promise, as so often I do…and I’m never one to break promises. You’ll be a better person, the one you’re meant to become, if you just take a chance.

images-17

11 comments

  1. Are they real? That’s my query too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are…if you work like the Dickens to attain them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodie Brook · · Reply

    Love this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m still trying to figure out what my dreams are. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s okay… You’re a late bloomer, like me.

      Like

  4. Ozzy Motley ;) · · Reply

    Well written! I’ve always known that being a writer was the career for me. Unfortunately, I haven’t reached Stephen King status — at least not yet! 😉 Keep dreaming big!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you… 😀 I love your writing!

      Like

  5. Reaching toward a dream.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish you the most success. 😌

      Like

  6. You will make it! I’m so glad that you’re finally pursuing your dreams! Maybe one day I will start! I have ideas! Love this & your writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

