Sincerity…is it Sincere?

SincerityIn today’s post, I thought I’d talk about sincerity. It’s becoming tougher & tougher, coming up with fresh content in which to attack the inadequacies of character in our beings, despite the flaws in humanity. Or maybe I’ve started my day too soon, and the fog of La-La Land has not yet lifted. Whatever the reasonings…sincerity is often overlooked in our day-to-day interactions and don’t let the guise of cordiality fool you. Some of us could win an Oscar.

I know my posts can be a little lengthy at times (stop rolling your eyes) and I apologize & promise to try and keep them shorter in length but rich in content. Now, do you think I was being sincere with my apology?

Actually, yes. When I say I’m sorry, I truly mean that I am sorry, for doing that which has inconvenienced or wronged you. But not everyone that apologizes has the same sincerity.

There are actually a couple things I’d like to talk about, and whether they add up to an article solely about sincerity, I’m not quite sure––yet, but they are definitely worth the mention.

Nothing angers me more than when someone, a friend, co-worker, significant other or a complete stranger, apologizes for doing something wrong for the mere act of releasing one’s own guilt. I have voiced this on more than one occasion when it has happened to me, resulting in me being called a Beotch. Maybe there’s some truth in that? I don’t know. You be the judge & let me know in the comments.

When you apologize for doing something wrong, take a second & think about it. How many times have you apologized simply because you felt bad about what you did? It’s true–remorse should definitely occur unless your morals are skewed and if that’s the case, take a look at my article, Moral Resume. That aside, what was your answer?

Yes? That’s what I thought…

Don’t feel bad. That wasn’t my intention; it’s only human nature. But the next time you apologize, make sure that it is sincere. Most people won’t be as bold as I am & call you out on apologizing “just to make yourself feel better”. But on the inside, what do you think they’re thinking? I won’t be graphic, but I’m sure they’re not thinking about how good you look. And the worst part is that it’s a silent hit to the morality of your character that most people are in complete unawares.

How do you apologize & not sound insincere?

Good question. Think you’ve stumped me? Let me take a crack at answering it.

A good way to retain your moral character after you’ve apologized for doing something wrong would be to have sympathy & understanding. Understand that just because you apologized for doing something stupid, doesn’t make it okay. DO NOT & I REPEAT: DO NOT climb atop your moral soapbox when that person doesn’t readily accept your apology. Nothing, in my honest opinion, makes the situation worse than getting angry with the person you wronged, for not accepting “I’m sorry” as the ointment that cools the burn. Because it is not! They’re angry & upset. Flip the situation and put yourself in their shoes: Have sympathy.

The singular act of an apology is not a vehicle in which you ride in order to reach the highway of Absolution over a bridge called Guilt. An apology is used to express one’s sympathy over a regretful action or wrong doing. That guilt you’re so anxiously feeling is one’s punishment for the stupidity of the act. I guess I should make it clear that when I’m talking about apologizing, I’m not talking about honest mistakes. They are entirely deserving of absolution. No one is perfect. I don’t even know why the word, perfect, exists. Can you name one thing that is universally observed as perfect? Comment below––please––if you can…

As I prepare my closing statement for this article, I noticed that the points I made all did add up to the topic of sincerity, probably due to my self-imposed wordiness restriction (which I managed to keep under 1000 –– Huzzah!). So, instead of taking my earlier sentence about discussing things not necessarily sincerity-related I will leave it. The act of writing isn’t so much about the propensity of confidence in prose as it is the connectedness of the word to the individual.Little Green Man

I’m only human, as are you, as far as I know.

So, embrace my flaws as much as I embrace yours because the meaning of life is not rapt with perfection. Be sincere in your thoughts & actions. But most of all, be sincere in your apologies. For it is our moral character that we must atone for lest we lose our sense of humanity.

4 comments

  1. Mickie Lear · · Reply

    Yes! I always say that the secret to a good marriage (or relationship) is to be willing to admit that you were wrong and to be willing to apologize. Swallowing your pride the moment you realize that you’re wrong, instead of keeping an argument going because you don’t want to admit you were wrong is the best way to cut back on unnecessary arguments.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jodie · · Reply

    ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this sentiment! I hate hurting people. Sometimes it is accidental. Sometimes (as with children) it is for there own good. But it is painful for the caring person either way. I don’t think I should be absolved. I hope my intentions and true heart are understood. Simply “I’m sorry I have hurt you. I love you dear human. I wish I knew how to love you better.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sorry I’m behind on my readings! I truly am sorry! This brought back memories of my baby boy’s apologies & how mad I would get, because they were insincere! You are once again right on target & I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

